3 Shrew Species visiting….

I have always had shrews visiting my mammal boxes; mainly the Common and the Pygmy shrew, but this week, I was delighted to have a Water Shrew appear in my Prickly Diner Mammal Box in my garden. I have had them visit my other Mammal box that is in a rather damp bank on the other side of the lane, next to my garage, but I have never seen them in my garden. Other than a small pond, I have no water course close by.

Screen Shot 2016-03-03 at 22.12.44

These shrews are bizarre looking… they appear rather balloon-like, with a dense, dark coat and a white underbelly. This clip is combined clips over one afternoon, showing all three species.

To find out more, check out my other Shrew blog post about how to tell these three species apart…

Water Shrew info Pygmy Shrew info Common Shrew info