I build a nesting chamber for a new live stream cam

With so many mice, voles and shrews in the garden, it got me thinking about where they are all breeding. Reading up on it, I found out that all these species have numerous litters per year in underground chambers. Wouldn’t it be great if I could get a breeding female on cam and be able to watch her bring up her litter? I know it is too late for this year, but I thought that if I got it all set up now, then next spring maybe there is a chance something would use the chamber to breed in. They may well use it during the winter to sleep in.

Armed with a variety of bits and pieces and a spare B&W cam with IR, I set about creating a nesting chamber.

Full details on how I made it can be seen on my website HERE


I placed it up in the bank of the hedgerow, with the tube pushed into one of the many holes in the bank.  I placed some peanuts and seed in the box and in the tube, hoping to tempt some mice, voles or shrews in. I wonder how long it will take for them to discover it? I will probably set this cam up on i-catcher for a week or so. This is motion detection software which will take a picture is any movement is detected. Keep an eye of for the cam on my live stream too.